12:00 AM, February 21, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Jessore AL expels 10 'rebel' leaders

Jessore AL expels 10 'rebel' leaders

Unb, Benapole, Jessore

The ruling Awami League has expelled its three local leaders for contesting polls in Sharsha, Jhikargachha and Bagharpara upazilas of the district growing the party decision. The party also ousted seven other leaders for supporting the 'rebels'.
Party sources said, the expulsion decision was taken a meeting of the district committee, presided by Ali Reza Raju, president of the district unit AL.
Jahurul Islam, office secretary of the district unit AL, said the district committee expelled three leaders -- Sirajul Islam Manju, president of Sharsha upazila unit AL, Musa Mahmud, member of Jhikargachha upazila unit AL, and Manzur Rashid Swapan, member of Bagharpara upazila unit AL.
Sirajul Islam Manju contested for the post of chairman in Sharsha upazila, Musa Mahmud for the post of vice chairman in Jhikargachha upazila while Manjur Rashid Swapan ran the race for the position of chairman in Bagharpara upazila.
Meanwhile, the district unit AL expelled seven leaders -- vice-president Saleh Ahmed Mintu, secretary general Nuruzzaman and joint-secretary Professor Ibrahim of Sharsha upazila and joint secretary Mostafa Anwar Pasha Jamal, organising secretary Ramzan Sharif Badsha, youth and sports secretary Nasimul Habib Shifar and technology secretary Abul Kashem Biswas of Jhikargachha upazila for carrying out campaign on behalf of the independent (rebel) candidates, ignoring the party choices, Zahurul added.


Leave your comments