• Saturday, March 07, 2015

India beat SA by 6 wkts

South Africa 172/4 (20/20 ov)
India 176/4 (19.1/20 ov)
India won by 6 wickets (with 5 balls remaining)

Virat Kohli hit a chanceless fifty to power India to the final of the World T20 after beating South Africa by six wickets in the second semi-final at Mirpur this evening.

India will play Sri Lanka in the final with shades of the World Cup 2011, when India trumped the Lankans in battle of the two cricketing giants from Asia.

Indian batsmen put in a combined effort to water down South Africa's charge, as all of the batsmen made valuable, swift contributions to the total.

Beuran Hendricks was the pick of the bowlers for South Africa, eho picked up two wickets for 31 runs from 4 overs.

South Africa set 173 for India to win after electing to bat in the second semi-final of the Word T20 In Dhaka this evening.

Skipper Faf du Plessis and JP Duminy engineered the innings for the South Africans, hitting quickfire 58 and 45 to lift the team.

David Miller provided with the late blitz to take them above 170- his 23 off 12 balls including two fours and a six.

R Ashwin was the most successful among the Indian bowlers, taking three wickets for the cost of 22 runs from 4 overs.

India came to the match on the back of four consecutive wins in the group stages of the tournament- the only team to have accomplished the feat.

South Africa, on the other hand, was the first team to qualify for the semi-finals after strong showings throughout the tournament.

Both teams will rely on spin to take them to the finals, with R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Amit Mishra providing the spin options for India, while the South Africans will look forward to Imran Tahir - their lead spinner, to fire.

South Africa will also be the more nervous side among the two- having reached ten semi-finals till their readmission but reaching only one final.

India are currently the 50-over World Cup champions, the Champions Trophy winner, and will seek to come up with a strong performance to complete the unique treble.

RG Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, SK Raina, V Kohli, AM Rahane, MS Dhoni, R Ashwin, RA Jadeja, A Mishra, B Kumar, MM Sharma
South Africa
Q de Kock, HM Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, DA Miller, F du Plessis, JA Morkel, DW Steyn, BE Hendricks, Imran Tahir, WD Parnell

Published: 6:59 pm Friday, April 04, 2014

Last modified: 10:16 pm Friday, April 04, 2014

Leave your comments | Comment Policy
ICC Cricket World Cup