12:00 AM, April 25, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

First round from Apr 30

First round from Apr 30

Sports Reporter

The KFC National Women's Football Championship will start on April 30 with the participation of a record 43 teams.
The participating district women's teams, split into six zones, will play the first round on knockout basis. Later, six zone champions will join the host district and holders Bangladesh Ansar in the eight-team final round.
The knockout phase will be held in Rajshahi, Laxmipur, Kushtia, Rangpur, Bagerhat and Dhaka. The matches of Rajshahi and Laxmipur will start from April 30, Kushtia and Rangpur from May 3 and Bagerhat and Dhaka from May 6 while the final round is expected to get underway by the end of May.
"We are going to hold the women's national football championship for the fifth time with assistance from FIFA and KFC, who have been with us for the last three years. A record of 43 teams are taking part this time compared to last season's 37," said BFF women's committee chairman Sirajul Islam Bachchu at a press conference at the BFF House yesterday.
Each team will be given Tk 10,000 as participation money while the winning teams will also get another Tk 5,000, informed Bacchu, adding that FIFA provided 30,000 dollars and KFC gave Tk 15 lakh to make the championship a success.
BFF general secretary Abu Nayeem Shohag, women's committee's deputy chairman Mahfuza Akter Kiron and KFC area manager Mizanur Rahman were present at the press conference.


Leave your comments