• Wednesday, March 04, 2015

Meril-Prothom Alo Award conferred

Staff Correspondent

On Friday evening, Bangabandhu International Conference Centre played host to a throng of stars and outstanding personalities, as the much-anticipated Meril-Prothom Awards 2013 ceremony began.
The evening started off with popular flash mob song “Char Chhokka Hoi Hoi” by Elita, Kona, Puja and Pantha Kanai. Associate Editor of Prothom Alo Anisul Hoque took the podium and greeted those present. He was soon followed by the editor of Prothom Alo Matiur Rahman and managing director of Square Group, Anjan Chowdhury.
In his speech Matiur Rahman elaborated on the artistes' contributions to the cultural and creative activities along with their playing significant roles for the social activities. Anjan Chowdhury congratulated all the artistes and paid his tributes to recently deceased legendary singer Bashir Ahmed and renowned journalist ABM Musa.      
The Lifetime achievement award went to Razzak, and presented to him by former adviser to a caretaker government Rokia Afzal Rahman.
As soon as Razzak left the stage, film stars Riaz, Ferdous and Apu Biswas, along with co-artistes, danced in honour of Razzak to a medley of melodies lip-synced by the Nayak Raj.    
The grandeur of the award ceremony augmented as it included a touch of sports, cultural show, jokes and skits and magic.
The emcee of the event was magician Jewel Aich, accompanied by model-actress Peya. Actor Saju Khadem added to the celebrations, with his jokes and performances.

The critics' award for best film went to “Mrittika Maya”, a film by Impress Telefilm Limited. Late Mohommad Hannan bagged the critics' award for his directorial work for the film “Shikhandi Kotha”. Hannan's son and daughter received the award. Raisul Islam Asad and Rakhal Sabuj shared the best actor award for the films “Mrittika Maya” and “Shikhandi Kotha” respectively. Nazneen Chumki received the best actress award for film “Ek'i Britte”.
Waheed Anam was then handed the best director award for his TV play “Pari”. Pantha Shahriar bagged the best script writer's award for his TV play “Jong Kutumbopur.” The best actress award for TV went to Farzana Chhobi for her role in “Simana Periye.” The best actor award (TV) went to Mosharraf Karim for the play “Shei Rokom Cha Khor.”
After conferring critics' awards, Taroka Jorip Puroshkar (selected by the readers of Prothom Alo) was handed over to the winners. Shakib Khan and Joya Ahsan received the best actor and best actress awards for their roles in the film “Purno Doirgho Prem Kahini”. The best singer (female) went to Nancy for her song “Akash Hote Chai” and best singer (male) went to Asif Akbar for his song “Ex Prem”.
Tisha received best actress award for her role in the TV play “Jodi Bhalo Na Lagey Dio Na Mon 2”. Mosharraf Karim also won the best actor (TV) award for “Sikandar Box Ekhon Birat Model”.  
The event also featured music and dance performances by various artistes and the band Joler Gaan.

Published: 12:00 am Sunday, April 27, 2014

Leave your comments | Comment Policy
ICC Cricket World Cup