• Saturday, March 07, 2015

Chhayanaut to premiere Chitrangada today

Staff Correspondent
The director-choreographer at a recent performance. Photo: Ridwan Adid Rupon
The director-choreographer at a recent performance. Photo: Ridwan Adid Rupon

Eminent dance artiste Sharmila Bandopadhyay has choreographed and directed Tagore's dance drama “Chitrangada” with an innovative approach. She has also designed the set, costume and light for the Chhayanaut production to be premiered today (January 24) at Chhayanaut auditorium, Dhanmondi.  
Incorporating theatrical approach with the dance drama, Sharmila first directed and choreographed the Tagore masterpiece under the title “Nohi Devi Nohi Shamanna Nari” in 1990 marking International Women's Day (March 8). Later, the dancer-choreographer took the production to Delhi and Ujjayini of India.
But this time, the dancer has taken some bold steps to present “Chitrangada” with a fresh approach. “The production will set off with the recitation of lyrical drama of Chitrangada, though the depiction of the dance drama of Chitrangada will be prominently portrayed. I have tried to represent two leading characters Kurupa (donned by Sudeshna Swayamprabha) and Surupa (enacted by Arna Kamolika) in a mature and an emboldened way. Dance enthusiasts will also see the character duo getting face-to-face in a mirror to realise each-other's self and soul,” says Sharmila Bandopadhyay.
“The audience will watch a sword dance by Arjun and his followers in the song 'Shongkor-er Bihbolota'. I portrayed the famous song 'Trishnar Shanti' choreographing it with Sri Lankan Candy dance,” adds the artiste.   
In the production, Mehraj Haq Tushar and Abul Hasan Tapan will play the roles of Madan and Arjun respectively.  
Written against the backdrop of Hindu mythology, Tagore wrote the lyrical play “Chitrangada” in 1892 while the bard wrote its dance-drama version in 1936.

Published: 12:00 am Friday, January 24, 2014

Last modified: 12:17 am Saturday, January 25, 2014

Leave your comments | Comment Policy
ICC Cricket World Cup