12:00 AM, May 29, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Dwadosh Robir Bonhi

Dwadosh Robir Bonhi

Nazrul birth anniversary celebrations at Shilpakala
Staff Correspondent

Nazrul Sangeet Shilpi Parishad (NSSP) in association with Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy (BSA) and Ministry of Cultural Affairs organised a celebration programme titled “Dwadosh Robir Bonhi” marking 115th birth anniversary of our National Poet Kazi Nazrul Islam. The event was held at the National Theatre Hall of BSA on May 27. Cultural affairs secretary Dr. Ranjit Kumar Biswas, NDC attended as chief guest with director general of BSA Liaquat Ali Lucky as special guest. General secretary of NSSP Sujit Mustafa delivered the welcome address while Vice-president of the ogranisation Murshid Jahan presided over.  
Chief guest Dr. Ranjit Kumar Biswas elaborated on Nazrul's literary creations with excerpts and recitation. He also declared for formulating a project for setting tunes to the 1700 songs that the National Poet wrote but did not compose. BSA DG Liaquat Ali Lucky declared to hold a Nazrul Theatre Festival at Shilpakala in the days ahead. “We have already assigned theatre departments of six public universities to produce six plays of Kazi Nazrul Islam in this regard. We actually want to popularise playwright Nazrul to our audience,” he said.      
The organisers honoured nine Nazrul Sangeet artistes, researchers and trainers from across the country with crests and certificates. They are Dr. Musharrat Shabnam (Jamalpur); Dr. Mafruha Hossain (Joypurhat); Dr. Mustafizur Rahman (Meherpur); Dr. Krishnapada Mondal (Rajshahi); Ardhendu Prasad Goswami (Jessore); Sandhya Roy (Brahmanbaria); Sudarshan Bhattacharya (Habiganj); Ranjit Kumar Saha (Tangail) and Md. Tabarak Hossain (Netrakona).
A number of noted and promising artistes performed both solos and choral Nazrul Sangeet at the event. NSSP artistes set off the soiree with a vibrant chorus “Tora Shob Joyoddhoni Kor”. Sheikh Jasim immersed in a melancholic melody “Ami Chirotorey Durey Chole Jabo” while noted singer Nashid Kamal performed a mellifluous song “Phiria Esho Esho Hey Phirey”.
Noted artistes Sumon Chowdhury, Yasmin Mushtari and Sujit Mustafa rendered “Kul Chherey Cholilam Bheshey”, “Rosho Ghono Shyam Kalyan Sundor” and “Aji Modhur Bashori Bajey” respectively. Anindita Chowdhury, Ahmed Akhtari Maya, Chowdhury Mostak Hossain, Taslima Begum Neeta and Ashish Kumar Sarkar with their respective troupes performed several choral songs.
Swaralipi Karim, Shahid Kabir Palash, Fatema Tuz-Zohra and Nazia Toma, Manash Kumar Das, MA Mannan, Rawshan Ara Soma, Mushtari Hossain Panna, Uttam Kuam Roy, Pradip Nandi and Murshid Jahan were among others who performed solos at the programme.


Leave your comments