12:21 PM, March 01, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

Counting on after Maheshkhali voting

Counting on after Maheshkhali voting

UNB, Cox’s Bazar
Photo: TV grab
Photo: TV grab

Voting in Maheshkhali upazila of Cox’s Bazar ended at 4:00pm without any major incident of violence.

The voting started at 8:00am and will continue till 4:00pm without any break.

A total of 25 candidates --10 in the race for the chairman post, 11 for the vice-chairman post and four for the woman vice-chairman (reserved) post -- are contesting the polls in the upazila.

The upazila has 188,528 voters who will be able to exercise their franchise through 68 polling stations to elect their representatives. On January 23, the Election Commission announced the second phase polls schedule for 117 upazilas, including Maheskhali, fixing February 27 for balloting.

Later, the commission deferred the election in Maheshkahli upazila to March 1 due to a religious festival of the Hindu community there.Finally, the election was held in 114 upazilas on February 27 as the EC also suspended the elections of Haimchar in Chandpur and Noakhali Sadar.


Leave your comments