• Friday, March 06, 2015


AL wins three-fourths of House seats

Star Online Report
Awami League has secured more than three-fourths seats in the 10th parliamentary election winning 105 out of the 147 seats up for election yesterday, according to unofficial results.

With the 127 seats it won uncontested earlier, the party now remains victorious in 231 out of total 300 constituencies.

Meanwhile, Jatiya Party (JP) won 13 seats while Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) won two and Workers Party (WP) won four seats.

Independent candidates won in 13 constituencies. One candidate each from Bangladesh Nationalist Front (BNF), Bangladesh Tarikat Federation came victorious.

The Election Commission decided to hold the polls again in 8 constituencies -- Dinajpur-4, Kurigram-4, Gaibandha-1, Gaibandha-3, Gaibandha-4, Jessore-5 and Laksmipur-1 -- following violence.


Published: 12:14 am Monday, January 06, 2014

Last modified: 6:41 pm Tuesday, January 07, 2014

TAGS: Politics Bangladesh Jatiya Party BNP Awami League Jatiya Samajtanrtik Dal Workers Party

Leave your comments | Comment Policy
ICC Cricket World Cup