12:00 AM, March 28, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

AL 2, BNP 1

AL 2, BNP 1

Staff Correspondent

Ruling Awami League-backed candidates won the chairmanship in Hizla upazila parishad of Barisal and Hajiganj upazila parishad of Chandpur while a BNP-favoured candidate won in Muktagachha of Mymensingh.
In Hizla, AL's Sultan Mahmud Tipu got 13,875 votes while his nearest rival BNP-backed Dewan Shahidul Islam bagged 8,234 votes.
Polling in three stations of Hizla was suspended due to violence on March 15 during the third phase of the elections. However, results of vice-chairman posts were declared on that day because the winners had unassailable leads.
In Hajiganj, where polling was suspended due to violence, AL-backed Abdur Rashid Majumder got 55,194 votes and his rival BNP-blessed Nazrul Islam received 48,720 votes. Here, Jamaat backed candidate won a vice-chairman post and AL-backed candidate won the vice-chairman post reserved for women.
In Muktagachha, BNP-backed candidate Zakaria Harun got 80,509 votes while his nearest rival AL-backed Billal Hossain Sarker bagged 74,604 votes. BNP-backed candidates won both the vice chairman posts there.
Voting in three centres of Muktagachha was suspended due to violence on March 15.
With this result, AL-blessed candidates won chairmanships in 39 upazilas, BNP in 28, Jamaat in seven and others won seven in the third phase of the elections to 81 upazila parishads.
Out of 162 vice-chairman posts, BNP-blessed men won in 61, AL-favoured in 55, Jamaat-backed in 28 and others won 17. Elections to vice-chairman in Shariatpur sadar upazila remains suspended.   
Most of the chairmen and vice-chairmen elected in the first phase of the elections on February 19 took oath yesterday at their respective deputy commissioner's office.


Leave your comments