12:00 AM, March 16, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

7 candidates to contest in Thakurgaon

7 candidates to contest in Thakurgaon

Our Correspondent, Thakurgaon

As many as seven candidates will vie for the posts of chairman, vice- chairman and vice chairman reserved for women in the election to Thakurgaon Sadar upazila parishad slated for March 31.
Two chairman candidates and a vice-chairman candidate withdrew their candidacy on March 12, Returning Officer Monzur Alam Prodhan, also additional deputy commissioner of Thakurgaon, said.
Sultanul Ferdous Nomro Chowdhury, seating upazila chairman and also general secretary of JP, withdrew his candidature and extended support to BNP-Jamaat candidate Toimur Rahman while Tahmina Akhter Mollah (AL-rebel) withdrew her candidature and gave support to AL backed candidate Arunangshu Datta Tito through a press conference.   
Vice chairman candidate Radhesh Chandra Roy (AL-rebel) pulled out of race on the day.      
The candidates contesting for the post of chairman are Arunangshu Datta Tito (AL supported) and Toimur Rahman (BNP-Jamaat backed).
The vice chairman candidates are Asraful Haque Chowdhury (AL supported) and Md. Alamgir (Jamaat).
The aspirants for vice chairman post reserved for women are Shahnaz Begum Parul (AL supported), Seratun Nahar (BNP backed), and Shilpi Begum (Workers Party).
In Thakurgoan Sadar upazila, there are 3,68,912 voters.


Leave your comments