12:00 AM, March 16, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

6 AL, 10 BNP rebels in race

6 AL, 10 BNP rebels in race

Our Correspondent, Patuakhali

Six Awami League rebels and 10 BNP rebels are in the election race in five upazilas of the district.
The election to Patuakhali Sadar, Mirzaganj, Dumki, Baufal and Galachipa upazila parishads is scheduled for March 23.
As many as 65 candidates are contesting for the posts of chairman, vice-chairman and vice-chairman reserved for women in the upazilas.
In Patuakhali Sadar upazila, AL-backed chairman candidate Tariquzzaman faces his party rebel Golam Sarwar, general secretary of Krishal League district unit. BNP candidate Shahadat Hossain faces no rebel candidate in the upazila.
AL's Mizanur Rahman is contesting for the vice-chairman post in the upazila. Though BNP candidate Abdur Rob withdrew his candidature, three party men are in the race for the post. They are Mosharraf Hossain. Syedur Rahman and Faruk hossain
In Mirzaganj upazila, AL-backed chairman aspirant Harun-ur-Rashiad faces party rebel Abu Bakar Siddique. BNP'S Shahadat Hossain Nannu is in trouble for rebel candidate Ashraf Ali Howlder.
AL's vice-chaiman candidate in the upazila faces rebel candidate Mostafizur Rahman.
In Dumki upazila, AL-backed chairman candidate Shahjahan Sikder face no rebel. BNP-backed chairman candidate Khalilur Rahman quit the race in favour of Jamaat candidate Abdul Wahab, who is in trouble with two BNP rebels---zakir Hossain Manju and Bahauddin Bahar.
In Woman vice-chairman post, AL's Nasima begum faces party rebel Nazmun Nahar.
In Baufal upazila, AL's  Mujibur is in a better position as he faces no party rebel. BNP-backed candidate Shahidur Rahman faces party rebel Taslim Talukder.
In Golachipa upazila, Both AL and BNP-backed chairman candidates in the upazila face no rebel candidates. AL's Assaduzzaman will face a tough contest from BNP's Abdus Sattar Howlader in the upcoming election.


Leave your comments