12:00 AM, June 06, 2014 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:53 AM, March 08, 2015

12 BCL men among 191 accused held in Bogra

12 BCL men among 191 accused held in Bogra

Our Correspondent, Bogra

Police arrested 12 leaders and activists of Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) from different areas of Bogra town in connection with Wednesday night's bomb attack that injured seven men including the officer in charge (OC) of Sadar police station at Shatmatha in the town.        
Sub-inspector (SI) Aslam Hossain of Sadar police station filed the case against 191 BCL men including 41 named ones with Sadar police station in Bogra on Wednesday night on charge of attack on police, creating obstacle to their conducting official duty and injuring the seven men on Wednesday.
"The 12 arrestees among the accused, all belonging to Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL), were sent to jail today [Thursday] noon. Police have continued drives to arrest rest of the accused as zero tolerance will be shown for their attack on law enforcers," said Senior ASP (A Circle) of Bogra Nazir Ahmed Khan.
Earlier on Wednesday evening, two factions of BCL took position at Satmatha in Bogra town for showing strength centring the formation of district, Azizul Haque College and Shah Sultan College unit committees.
At one stage, some people from a group of BCL activists hurled a crude bomb targeting the policemen.   
The bomb attack left Bogra Sadar police station OC AHM Foyjur Rahman, Habilder Shajahan Ali, constables Delwar Hossain, Shahriar Hossain, Shaphan Mia and Ashikur Rahman, and local trader Badal Mia injured.  
Following the incident, police conducted drives at different places of Bogra town the same night and arrested Alamgir, 27, Don, 24, Bipul, 20, Ansar, 26, Asad, 27, Shamim, 21, Liton, 25, Akramul, 26, Rakib, 21, Ovi, 25, Rahman, 24, and Hashibur, 25, -- all leaders and activists of BCL in Bogra.
The seven injured were immediately sent to Shaheed Ziaur Rahman Medical College Hospital and their condition is well now.


Leave your comments